Members' Information

Laid out below is all the information you might need for the season ahead. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to Contact Us

Following the closure of the University of London Union, ULSO is entirely self-funded and your membership fees are crucial in helping to cover the cost of running the orchestra.

The membership fee for the 2021/22 season is £45.

ULSO rehearsals take place on Tuesday evenings between 18:30 and 21:30 at St Stephen's Church, Gloucester Road, London, SW7 4RL.

Occasionally, there may also be additional rehearsals in the lead-up to concerts. Availability forms will be sent out before each project and these dates will be confirmed in advance.

If you are absent for a rehearsal, you must provide a dep and let the Orchestral Manager know at orchestral.manager@ulso.co.uk.

Players are reminded that by joining ULSO, they have agreed to adhere to our depping policy, which may be viewed here.

Rehearsal schedules for each concert are set out below


Shostakovich Symphony No.12

Concert - Saturday 27th November 2021 - 7pm

First rehearsal - Tuesday 12th October

Repertoire
Tchaikovsky - The Tempest, Op.18
Weber - Clarinet Concerto No.2
Shostakovich - Symphony No.12 'The Year 1917'
Conductor
Soloist
Oliver Janes
Principal Clarinet of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra


Rehearsals

Tuesday 12th October - 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 19th October 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 26th October 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 2nd November 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 9th November 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 16th November 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 23rd November 18.30-21.30
Saturday 27th November 14.00-17.30

Concert

Saturday 27th November - 7pm

Venue

St Stephens' Church
Gloucester Road
London, SW7 4RL

Autumn 2021 Concert Poster

Concert - Sunday 20th February 2022 - 7pm

First rehearsal - Tuesday 18th January


Repertoire

J Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture

R Strauss - Horn Concerto No.1

Elgar - Enigma Variations

Conductor

Daniel Capps

Soloist

Alexei Watkins
ULSO Concerto Competition Winner

Rehearsals

Tuesday 18th January - 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 25th January 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 1st February 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 8th February 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 15th February 18.30-21.30
Saturday 19th February 14.00-17.00
Sunday 20th February 14.00-17.00

Concert

Sunday 20th February 2022 - 7pm

Venue

St Stephens' Church
Gloucester Road
London, SW7 4RL

Concert - Sunday 27th March 2022 - 7pm

First rehearsal - Tuesday 22nd February


Repertoire to include:

Rachmaninoff - Symphony No.2 in E minor, Op.27

Conductor

Daniel Capps

Rehearsals

Tuesday 22nd February 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 1st March 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 8th March 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 15th March 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 22nd March 18.30-21.30
Saturday 26th March 14.00-17.00
Sunday 27th March 14.00-17.00

Concert

Sunday 27th March 2022 - 7pm

Venue

St Stephens' Church
Gloucester Road
London, SW7 4RL Link

Concert - Sunday 22nd May 2022 - 7pm

First rehearsal - Tuesday 10th May


Repertoire to include:

Beethoven - Symphony No.3 - 'Eroica'

Conductor

Daniel Capps

Rehearsals

Tuesday 10th May 18.30-21.30
Tuesday 17th May 18.30-21.30
Saturday 21st May 14.00-17.00
Sunday 22nd May 14.00-17.00

Concert

Sunday 22nd May 2022 - 7pm

Venue

St Stephens' Church
Gloucester Road
London, SW7 4RL

Attendance is required for all rehearsals. In the event of an unavoidable absence, such as conservatoire projects, deps are required from wind, brass, percussion and principal desks of strings.

Photo of violinist

You must also notify the Orchestral Manager via orchestral.manager@ulso.co.uk. By joining ULSO, members agree to adhere to our depping policy.